Inappropriate Conduct

 

Today’s theme is actually borderline comedic. I say borderline because it’s actually very rude at the core, but has a funny appearance at first glance. Today, I’m going to talk about inappropriate sexual conduct in the pharmacy. Get your chuckles out now because the remainder of this will be very serious.

In the past week, I have seen WAY too many examples of inappropriate conduct in the pharmacy. Not from our employees, but from our patients. Now, I don’t mind hearing compliments from people about how nice our staff looks, and I don’t view it as harassment. But, when a person starts making sexual passes at our staff, that’s not only rude, it’s embarrassing and uncomfortable as well. The conversation below happened today at our drive-thru between one of our young female techs and a middle aged man picking up his wife’s prescription.

“How can I help you?”
“I’m sorry I parked so far away.”
“No, it’s not your fault. I’m just short.”
“That’s okay. I like ’em short.” *wink*
“Who are you picking up for, sir?”
“My wife. I like it when you call me sir.”
“Do you have any questions for the pharmacist?”
“Yeah. How can I get you in my truck for a nice, long ride, sweet thing?”

Wow. Just wow. Very classy. -_-

This kind of behavior is awful to start with, but of all places, what would make someone think it’s okay to behave like this at a pharmacy? Save it for the bar, buddy. I’ve been seeing this sort of thing a lot lately, and I don’t know why. It’s happening to both our male and female employees, and it has no age or marital status boundaries. I feel like posting the following in the pharmacy.

 

Pharmacy Etiquette Notice
1. Please, do not make any sexual passes or references towards our employees.
2. Please, do not ask for our employees’ telephone numbers or other contact information.
3. Please, do not hand out your contact information to our employees while they are on duty.
4. Please, do not touch our employees in a non-professional manner.
5. Please, refrain from flirting with any employees.

 

I am still very disgusted by the behavior I’ve been witnessing in the recent past. Unfortunately, we cannot ask these people to leave the premises for this sort of thing, since it is not physically harmful. Thank you, corporate regulations, for such a stupid rule.

My take-away point is this:  Readers, please do not act in a flirty or sexual manner to pharmacy employees. They may find it harassing, even if you are joking. And, please, spread this message. Spread it far and wide. I think half the problem is that people don’t realize how uncomfortable they may be making someone else. And, if they don’t know there’s a problem, they won’t be able to fix it.

 

Image courtesy of http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e305/lmull3/stopharassmentbullyingyoutube.jpg

5 thoughts on “Inappropriate Conduct

  1. Unless the company’s policy & procedure manual’s specifically EXCLUDES customer/patients from creating a hostile work environment and/or sexual harassment environment… asking customers/pts to cease/decease and/or leave the store.. IS APPROPRIATE.. IMO… any company that has such P&P that condones or does not discourage such behaviors out of customers/pts .. it is just a matter of time before some takes them to court over it.

    • The only way we can turn away “potential business opportunities” (which is how our lovely CEOs view our patients) is if they physically harm another non-employee, and even then we can still get in trouble by asking them to leave. There was one pharmacist who worked at this pharmacy long before I got there that witnessed a drive-thru patron purposely ram into the back end of the person in front of them multiple times because they thought they were taking too long at the window. The pharmacist refused the person service. The road rage-r complained to our supervisor’s supervisor, the pharmacist was highly reprimanded, and the person received a gift card for his inconvenience. Not long after that, the pharmacist was fired. Whether that be a reason behind her termination, I don’t know, but I find it suspicious that the two happened close together.

      Unfortunately, in the world of corporately owned chain pharmacies, doing what is appropriate and should be done isn’t always welcomed by the upper management. Of course, if the upper management were actually pharmacists, things would probably be different. There are times I really dislike the company I work for. I just try to let most of it go over my head because I do enjoy the community and the area I practice in. It’s the wonderful experiences I have most days that make it all worth it.

  2. tdapharm says:

    Ugh, that is just sad for patients to do this.

  3. anonymous says:

    i don’t know… if i hadnt given my number to the woman that asked for it 8 years ago through the drive thru, i wouldnt be married with 2 kids. on the other hand, when someone is getting uncomfortable with the way someone i talking to them, it is perfectly okay for them to ask another tech or the pharmacist to complete the transaction while they get as far away from the customer. i have stepped in a few times for fellow employees.

    • Aww, that’s nice that you met your wife like that. =) I guess each situation should be handled individually, but making sexual comments in the pharmacy is definitely inappropriate and shouldn’t be done, regardless of whether it’s the employee or the patient doing the commenting. We actually have one patient that two of our technicians hide from when they see or hear him because he has been and still is very inappropriate with them.

Leave a Reply

