Pictures Are Worth a Thousand Words

 

So, I realized something today. I realized how much I’ve become a part of some of my patients’ lives. I know that a pharmacist is a familiar face many people see; however, forming a bond with a patient is something special and doesn’t happen with just any patient and any pharmacist.

Today, I had a woman share pictures of her grandson’s graduation from college. She had them in a cute photo album and everything. I didn’t think anything of it until she told me she has been carrying it with her the past few times she came to the pharmacy, hoping it would be my day to work. I suddenly felt very prominent in this woman’s life and not just in a healthcare professional way. It made me smile to know that she has connected with me in such a way. It ultimately benefits her and will make the quality of healthcare she receives from me even better. I’m not saying I will treat her better than other patients, but that she will be more receptive to what I advise her to do. She will be more open to patient education that is important to share with her. And, that is a great thing.

After that, I realized that there are several other people who have made similar, more personal connections with me. I feel very privileged to be able to experience such wonderful things. Days like theseĀ  make me enjoy my job and profession even more than I already do. =)

So, what personal connections have you guys made with your patients? Patients, what personal connections have you made with your healthcare professionals? I would love to hear.

 

Image courtesy of http://i736.photobucket.com/albums/xx10/CindyGee13/photography1.jpg

2 thoughts on “Pictures Are Worth a Thousand Words

  1. Alex Barker says:

    My favorite patient experience was with a African American diabetes support group. They displayed the most appreciatation of service I’ve ever had.
    They are so lively compared to other support groups I’ve lead. They aren’t afraid to ask questions and love to learn.
    I’ve delegated the my fav group to another pharmacist, but I still get emails starting with “DOC! What should I do!?!?”
    Giving of myself to diabetes support groups is one of the most valuable accomplishments of my career.

Leave a Reply

