Computers Make the Pharmacy World Go ‘Round

Computerfrustration_zpsfce93557

 

So, the biggest issue our pharmacy has been dealing lately is a slew of computer problems. Almost every day since the new store opened, we have been unable to use any of the computers in our pharmacy for a good portion of the day. Several times, they have crashed in the evening and stayed down until after we closed. Our pharmacy is open for 11 & 1/2 hours a day during the weeks; there were a couple days where we couldn’t use our computers for 6 of those hours. Trying to do 11 & 1/2 hours’ worth of work in about 5 hours is not fun. I have felt like the figure in the animation above many days. Both my partner and I have had to come in before the pharmacy opens our our days off to clean up what couldn’t be finished the previous night. It has been quite exhausting.

Luckily, our patients have been so understanding throughout this whole thing. I find it interesting the difference between how my partner and I have been handling this. If a person comes in with a script and our computers are down, I give him/her enough for a day or two without hesitation. The only exception for me is narcotics but I do my best to find those patients the closest pharmacy to us that can fill it. But, as far as benzos and hydrocodone goes, I’ll even give a few of them. I just always make sure to mark down if they got any and subtract it from the balance on the script. My partner, on the other hand, has been completely turning people away, even those with non-controlled scripts. I don’t understand why. I feel getting a patient started on an antibiotic or making sure a person doesn’t lapse in his/her Coumadin therapy is important. Our computers being down shouldn’t affect this. I am still going to practice pharmacy without them, and I am still going to put patient care first. I guess not all pharmacists feel the same, though.

I am hoping that our computer issues have finally been resolved. Yesterday was the first day they stayed up all day. Maybe it’s a good omen! =) I hope everyone’s days are going well and that your pharmacies are filled with working computers!

 

Image courtesy of http://i1170.photobucket.com/albums/r539/Betelgeuse3x/Useful%20gifs/Computerfrustration_zpsfce93557.gif

Leave a Reply

